Meadow

It was late summer, almost Autumn but not quite. I was listening to some old style jazz by Beegie Adair while walking through the meadow nearby my house. This was my favorite thing to do, I’d been strolling through the meadow since I was little. Always when I was stressed or had too much on my mind, I could come to the meadow and feel all my worries slip away. As I walked along, I trailed my fingers in the long grass and let my mind wander. Then I saw a shadow move in the bushes by the forest. It’s probably a forest animal I told myself. I started making my way away from the animal, but when I glanced over my shoulder again, I found that the shadow was actually a horse. It only had a saddle blanket and a bridle on. I wondered wether the owner was nearby or not.
After taking off my headphones and leaving them hanging around my neck, I aproached slowly because I didn’t know if the horse took kindly to strangers, but he was very friendly. He even came to me and nodded at me. As I patted his neck-assuming it was a he-I started searching the forest with my eyes.
“Well, I’m not going to see anything from here what with the forest being so thick.” I said more to me then the horse. I turned back to him.”Do you know where your owner is?” I asked him. He started grazing. Well you’re no help I thought to myself. “Guess I’ll head into the woods myself.” I gave him a last pat on the neck and turned to go into the woods. I entered the foliage and the world seemed to disappear, replaced by the darker forest.
“And who might you be?” Asked a male voice to my left. I jumped, startled. When I looked to my left I found him. Dang, he was cute.

“Hi. I was just looking for the owner of that lovely horse over there. Presumably that would be you?” I asked with a smile.

“Yep that would be me.” He said, returning the smile. He looked about my age, mid teens. He had chocolate tousled hair and warm hazel eyes. I should probably mention that his smile could probably melt metal if he tried. I myself felt my bones turning to the consistency of mush. No! Resist the temptation to swoon! You must be strong!  I mentally scolded myself.

Leave a Reply

